+44 020 8453 1017
+971 4888 6345
Mon - Sat
9am - 5pm
Standards & Legislations

Mortice Locks


The Euroart range of architectural locks is manufactured to the highest engineering standards and designed to offer a high price/performance ratio. They have been successfully type tested to all the requirements of BS EN12209.


Features & Functions

EUROART DIN architectural range of Locks and latches designed to support the entire EUROART range of levers, knobs and other unsprung furniture.The range is suitable for general commercial and heavy industrial use.

Offering complementary build quality, design integrity, and choice of external finishes, EUROART gurantees the perfect match between form and function whenever you specify EUROART architectural ironmongery. With fire safety and security in mind, EUROART have design this series.Solid stainless steel latchbolts, deadbolts, followers, forend and strike plates provide enhanced durability and security.

Rebate conversion are available to allow locks to be fitted in most rebated door sections.

  • Stainless steel forend and strike plate.
  • Reversible latchbolt.
  • Solid stainless steel spindle follower.
  • Flush fitting case rivets and screws.
  • Solid stainless steel deadbolt.

  1 Forend A Backset
  2 Latchbolt B Distance
  3 Key action C Case height
  4 Deadbolt D Case width
  5 Screw channel for
profile cylinder
E Forend length
  6 Lever followe F Forend width
EUROART mortice locks are supplied with a 10 year guarantee.
See each individual product page for details.

BS EN12209 Building Hardware-mechanically operated locks, latches and locking plates.

BS EN 1906 classifies door furniture by using an 8 digit coding system. A similar classification applies to all building Hardware product standard so that complemantry items of hardware can be specified to, for instance, a common level of corrosion resistance, category of use, etc. Each digit refers to a particular feature of the product measure against the standard's performance requirements.

1. Category of Use

Four grades are identified:

Grade 1

Low frequency of use by people with ahigh incentive to exercise care and a small chance of misuse, Eg: Internal residential doors

Grade 2

Medium frequency of use by people with some incentive to exercise care but where there is some chance of misuse, Eg: Internal office doors

Grade 3

High frequency of use by public or others with little incentive to exercise care and with a high chance of misuse, Eg: Public doors


2. Durability

Twelve grades are identified with minimum figures for deadbolt and snib operation,and latch bolt operation with and without side load,as shown.The side load is applied to the latch bolt when it is being withdrawn.

Increasing Side Load
grade C grade H grade M grade S grade X
grade B grade G grade L grade R grade W
grade A grade F      


3. Door mass

Nine grades are identified with minimum figures for closing force at various door masses as shown.Note: closing force is from a standing start : i.e. fully extended latch bolt in contact with striking plate at start of test.

Maximum Closing Force

Door mass
up to 100kg

Door mass
up to 200 kg

Door mass
above 200 kg


grade 7

grade 8



grade 4

grade 5

grade 6


grade 1

grade 2

grade 3


4. Fire resistance

Four grades are identified:

Grade 0

Not approved for use on fire/door assemblies

Grade 1

suitable for use on fire/smoke door assemblies tested to BS EN1634-1 etc.


A grade 1 classification means only that the lock has been designed foe use on fire/smoke control doors; the actual fire performance achieved(e.g fire integrity of 30 miniutes on a partially glazed timber door etc.) will be contained in a seprate fire test report.


where a product is intended for fire/smoke door use(i.e a "1" in box 4), it must be possible to demonstrate compliance with the Essential Requirements of the Construction Products(Amendments) Regulations.It is recommended that the product should bear the CE mark (see section on CE marking).


5. Safety

No requirement, but note: a lock or latch conforming to this standard can, at he same time,also be part of an exit device conforming to BS EN 179 or BS EN 1125.


6. Corrosion resistance

Eight grades are identified with neutral salt-spray (NSS) corrosion resistance grades from BS EN 1670:1998, with and without temperature resistance as shown :-

Corrision resistance (NSS)

Temperature resistance

No requirement                     -20c to +80C

240 hours

grade D

grade G

96 hours

grade C

grade F

48 hours

grade B

grade E

24 hours

grade A

No requirements

grade 0



7. Security and drill resistance

Seven grades are identified with minimum figures for requirements relating to physical attack, with or without drilling of the lockcase, as shown

Increasing resistance to attack

No drilling requirement

Drilling Requirement

grade 6

grade 7

grade 4

grade 6

grade 3

grade E

grade 2


grade 1



8. Field of door application.

Fifteen grades are identified for differing applications-hinged or sliding doors with rim or mortice locks with either keyless egress from inside or key locking from both sides.The grading determine which application is apporopriate.in addition ,there there is a requirement that lock/latch should not be removable from outside or,for grades K to R, froem inside using "standard" tools.Grades H and P require support for the lockcase when installed.


9. Type of Key operation and locking.

Nine grades are identified for differing types of key operation, The grading determines how the lock is assessed foe deadlocking requirement as shown.in addition,there is a maximum key torque operating requirement of 1.5 Nm and a minimum key strength requirement of 2.5 Nm .

Grade 0

Not applicable;

Grade A

Cylinder lock or latch; manually locking;

Grade B

Cylinder lock or latch; automatically Locking;

Grade C

Cylinder lock or latch; manually locking with intermediate locking;

Grade D

Lever lock or latch; manually locking

Grade E

Lever lock or latch; automatically locking;

Grade F

Lever lock or latch; manually locking with intermediate locking;

Grade H

lock or latch without key opreation;manually locking;

Grade G

lock without key operation; automatically locking.


10. Type of spindle operation

Five grades are identified

Grade 0

lock without follower


Lock with sprung lever or knob

Grade 2

Lock with light unsprung leverg.

Grade 3

Lock with heavy unsprung lever

Grade 4

Lock with manufacturer's own specification furniture


11. Key identification

Nine grades are identified relating to the number of differs and levers.Grades to a latch with no locking action:-

No of differs No of levers
                grade H
        grade F     grade G  
      grade D     grade E    
    grade B     grade C      
  grade A              
grade 0                


BS EN 1634 Part 1: 2000

Is the European Fire Safety Satandard for determining the fire resistance of door and shutter assemblies including hardware designed for installations within openings incorporated in vertical seprating elements (doorsets).

Fire Doors-Locks

The UK construction Products Regulations require locks for use on fire doors to be safe and durable. British/European standards BS EN 12209 is the recognised way of demonstrating compliance and requires that an official Notified Body proves both the product and the manufaturer's factory product controls are satisfactory before CE marking can be applied. It is recommended that locks fitted to Fire doors should be CE marked.

CE Marking

CE marking is the easiest and safest route to providing compliance with the latest UK Construction Products Regulations for hardware used on fire, smoke and escape doors.

BS8300 & Approved Document "M" of the Building Regulations

These documents recommend that locks should have a minimum of a 55mm backset and that the centres should be a minimum of a 72mm. Locks with keyways above the cylinder are also suitable.